Introducing: Bridge Dubstep

Welcome back. Third update in a month and a great one at that! So wasting no more time:

Introducing – Bridge Dubstep

The first I heard of this guy’s production was my housemate playing it from downstairs the bass was just huge and I had to go see what track it was. Needless to say, from close range this was an absolute banger of a track and was a great demonstration of the music this talented artist is creating. The basslines in Bridge’s tracks are certainly his forte. All his tracks exhibit a great mastery of the sub bass region, merging fluently with delicate midrange pads and excellent minimalist percussion. All expertly mastered, every piece is a fantastic example of how dubstep should be and well worth the listen. Here’s what he has to say:

Dubstep Origins: First up, what’s your name, how old are you and where are you based?

Bridge: I’m Joe Bainbridge, I’m 23 and based in Devon, UK.

DO: How long have you been producing for, and how would you describe your style?

B: I’ve been producing for five years and my style has definitely changed over the years. I started out making heavy dubstep but now focus on the deeper side: deep, ambient sub-bass music.

DO: Who or what introduced you to dubstep?

B: I First experienced dubstep at an Exeter night called ‘Deep End’ (Then Breaksphere) when Skream was playing. At the time I was more into DnB but, I suppose, this night was the beginning of a big shift as I instantly became intrigued with the genre.

DO: Which artists are currently influencing your production?

B: I think influence comes from everything you listen to, even if you have a negative response to a style or producer this affects how you produce. But some artists I would say have definitely inspired me are Scuba, Kromestar, Icicle, Phaelah, Distance and Kryptic Minds to names a few. If I ever see one of my releases in a mix alongside these producers its means a lot and lets me know I’m creating the style I’m aiming for.

DO: In your eyes, what is dubstep as a genre?

B: Dubstep, needless to say is an extremely diverse genre. I defy anyone to sum it up in one sentence and truly grasp every aspect of what it offers. To me it’s something new and interesting, that is constantly evolving and shifting in sound.

DO: What’s on your playlist at the moment?

B: Solitude Ambient Volumes are always on rotation, Ludovico Einaudi, Cinematic Orchestra, Trentemøller, Scuba and recently been getting into my Indian Classical.

DO: Anything else you’d like to add?

B: Big up to all the South West UK promoters, producers, DJs and ravers for making the scene what it is!

 

Sorted. There’s more good news – Bridge has just released an excellent five track album (and a cheeky free bonus track) on NE Records that you can listen to and buy here – http://www.junodownload.com/products/coded-city/1724423-02/

I very much recommend you check it out, it’s only the price of two pints (Unless you’re from London, then it’s just one pint!)

Here’s a quick track to get you salivating!

Bridge – Watching Darkness (Feat Mimi)

Make sure to check out his soundcloud for more great tracks, some great freebies and more great stuff – http://soundcloud.com/bridgedubstep

And, because we’re treating you this week, here’s another two tracks to get your ears around. (In case you were wondering, the track we mentioned at the beginning of this post is the second one.) Enjoy!

Bridge – Maisi (Original Mix)

Bridge – Hoard

Catch y’all later!
TM.

This entry was posted in Introducing, Release and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

