Introducing: Bandicoot Dubstep

Well aren’t you guys lucky, two updates within a fortnight! With any luck I’ll be down to weekly updates in no time! I’ve been excited about this one for a while now, so I’ll not waste any more time, get on this:

Introducing – Bandicoot Dubstep

Where to start? Let’s see… Take a handful of lazy, lounge jazz synths; mix them up with some inspired percussion; throw in a gentle rolling sub and sprinkle with delicate piano melodies. Bake for 16 bars at about 140BPM and you have a recipe for excellent ambient dubstep. This producer is doing just that and exceptionally well in my opinion. Also did I mention his fantastic piano lines? With forthcoming releases, out on Subdepth and Bass Bin Assassins labels to name but a few, Bandicoot is cooking up quite a storm in the world of future bass and serving an exquisite dubstep banquet not to be missed!
Ok, enough cookery puns, here’s what he had to say:

Dubstep Origins: First up, what’s your name, how old are you and where are you based?

Bandicoot: My name’s Daniel Evans-Jones, I’m 18 and from Eton/Reading in Berkshire, UK.

DO: How long have you been producing for, and how would you describe your style?

B: I’ve been producing for just over a year now and seriously for about six months. My style varies I think, a lot of my tracks have a strong jazz influence whilst others will be more distant and deep. I have also recently produced an EP coming out on MindStep which is a lot darker; and in places heavier and more tribal sounding than my other releases.

DO: Who or what introduced you to dubstep?

B: My friend Jack introduced me to DnB when I was 13. Before that I had only really heard the classics. He knew every tune that was around so I got really into that. From there it was just slowly discovering the different types of sub driven music. I suppose it was the Manali Cream mixes, the early ones, that got me into dubstep. Although I liked the wobble sounds that were appearing in both DnB and dubstep it was the pure grimey depth that got me hooked.

DO: Which artists are currently influencing your production?

B: Producers that inspired my at first were Coki, Rustie, Vex’d, Pinch and Joker more recently, though producers such as Von D, Silkie, Heny G, Kromestar, Ben Verse, Truth, Legend4ry, Kid Simple, Dom Hz , Vandera , Gerkle and the rest of the Subdepth gang have kept me fuelled with ideas.

DO: In your eyes, what is dubstep as a genre?

B: Dubstep is and always will be a sophisticated form of sub driven music.

DO: What’s on your playlist at the moment?

B: My playlist atm is filled with fresh new Subdepth tracks, classic Paul Hardcastle and some proper jazzy lounge.

DO: Anything else you’d like to add?

B: Want to shout out everyone who has helped push my music; Danny C and Linus from Bassment/Resonance. Prime down at Subdepth. Goli & Ashburner, Legend4ry, Integral and the 3rdEyeLdn Crew, Pressa, Crises and the Mindstep Gang, Widowmaker, Freakah at Bass Bin Assassins as well as Tamzen for putting up with me!

Also catch me playing at:
Subplate
Resonance
Trade Mark Grime

Big ups !!

Big movements then, make sure you check this guy on Soundcloud, he has some great free tunes and more great tracks than we have space to fit here! – http://soundcloud.com/bandicootdubstep

In addition, keep a lookout for releases coming out soon on 3rdEyeLdn, Mindstep, Subdepth and Bass Bin Assassins record labels, wow that’s a lot! Just an industry heads up, the preview I’ve had of the Subdepth release is absolutely massive – guaranteed unmissable, so stay locked!

Picking tracks to put here was hard, but here are our faves from his Soundcloud (again make sure you pay it a visit, you won’t regret it!)

Mirror State – Stepping Over Hills (Bandicoot RMX)

And lucky you, here’s two tracks in one! They’re both forthcoming on Bass Bin Assassins, again unmissable!

Freakah – For You (Bandicoot Remix) // Bandicoot – Twilight Sunrise

Cheers for passing by, more coming soon!
TM.

This entry was posted in Introducing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

