Introducing: Cheeba

Absolutely have to have a break from coursework… So this thing is getting an update! Mentioning coursework, I’ve been listening to a lot of the stuff by the artist to be announced shortly, and it’s really great for working to. In fact it’s really great to listen to at any time, enough talk, here’s what you’re here for:

Introducing – Cheeba

Fluid, lucid, mesmerising, enchanting. Just a few of the words you might use to describe the work of this guy, and he’s done a lot of it. Evidently one of the hardest working producers I’ve interviewed so far, Cheeba is pumping out tracks every two or three days! What’s most remarkable is the very high standard of his production and the variety of tracks he is producing! A fantastic range of styles and very close attention to detail make his playlist a real treat to listen to. An exceptional talent, here’s what he had to say:

Dubstep Origins: First up, what’s your name, how old are you and where are you based?

Cheeba: My name’s Adam “Cheeba”, I’m 19 and born and raised in Manchester, UK, but recently moved down south; for the more chilled life.

DO: How long have you been producing for, and how would you describe your style?

C: I’ve only been producing for about 3/4 of a year now, using Logic Pro, Reason and a bit of Ableton, but in the short time I’ve been producing my laptop and production software has never left my side. I have no history of music production nor had any music lessons. I literally just bought myself a Macbook and Logic and didnt leave them alone until Iunderstood what I needed to do. I attempted to get a qualification in music technology but my lifestyle got the better of me and I dropped out after the third or fourth week! I would describe my style as “ambient future dubstep/garage”, I dunno really, I dont try and aim my music towards a genre.

DO: Who or what introduced you to dubstep?

C: I was introduced to dubstep by a graphic designer mate of mine called ‘Creese Designz’. He introduced me to the ‘Benga – Diary of a Digital Soundboy’ album and I instantly fell in love with the originality of the drums, the sound manipulation and everything to do with the hype that is dubstep. Round about the same time, Rusko and Caspa made there Fabriclive mix. I bought this and educated myself on all the producers that featured on the CD. Before this I was into anything different and outstanding really, (metal, garage, grime, dnb, jungle, hardcore, hardstyle, etc).

DO: Which artists are currently influencing your production?

C: My main influences in production are Burial, Synkro, Four Tet, Mount Kimbie, James Blake and mainly that side of the dubstep/electronic sound. I love the off beat, wonky drums Burial and Synkro use and the way their vocals purposely let the listener believe they are singing whatever they want. Know what i mean? Aside from the dubstep, there is a lot of influence from artists such as Chaka Khan and the whole 80s dance scene, also a big influence is, the legend that is, Lee Scratch Perry! As well as this weighty list, a huge influence for me is 16bit. They theme tracks on government corruption, NWO and general “conspiracies” for example Swine Flu, President of Europe. etc.

DO: In your eyes, what is dubstep as a genre?

C: Ermm, well… dubstep to me is more of a feeling than a type of music. It has redefined the way you can create music and also the way music is heard. I find it such a shame to see people who just think of dubstep as ultra filthy wobbles, grinding synths, sampling random noises and using novelty vocals. Dont get me wrong, I love this style, but there’s not enough creativity, or musical influence, to just call that dubstep. What i would call dubstep as a genre is, for example, Mala & DMZ, Skream, Eleven 8, DZ, Bar9, Synkro, Benga.. that sort of deep style that hypnotizes you into some beautifu, reggae tribal vibe. perfect for getting zoning out to. Hopefully one day someone will be asked the same question and say my name! (laughs).

DO: What’s on your playlist at the moment?

C: I could go on forever and ever with my playlist at the moment, so I’ll give you my top 25 most played on my iTunes:
Burial – Broken Home , Four Tet – Angel Echoes, Burial – Forgive, Skinnyman – Thats What I’m Gonna Do, Druid – Right here (Manhattan’s Bootleg), 16bit – President of Europe, Synkro – Don’t know,  Rage Against the Machine – How I Could Just Kill a Man, Urban Knights – Blaze Mic, Bob Marley – Punky Reggae Party, In Flames – Come Clarity
Jimi Hendrix – Voodoo Child (Slight Return), 16bit – Panic, Deep Focus – The Light,
Bonobo – Flutter, Sven Weissemanne – Xine XIII, Burial – Gutted, Burial – Etched Headplate, Stray – Frost, Mala – Alicia, X Zero – Shotta Dub, Instra:mental – Watching You, Devlin – Community Outcast, 2Pac – Friend Like Me, Outkast – Prototype
But yeah, I could go on for ages, I listen to anything good!

DO: Anything else you’d like to add?

C: I would like to give a big shout out to “T0T0R0”, a mint dj with a quality music taste. She swerved me towards the more ambient side of dubstep and garage and literally knows everything to do with the “nicer side” of dubstep. well, she basically just knows!
Find here here – http://soundcloud.com/kittenfloat

I’d like to thank everyone who keeps up to date with my music and enjoys my style. I appreciate it so much, I had no clue I could create a track someone else would enjoy listening to and since the first positive comment I got about my music I havent stopped trying to improve.

I’d also like to thank Roberto Milanesi of JAMBALAY RECORDS for signing four of my tracks, this is the first step to me actually making a difference with my music.
I’m not going to be one of those producers who advertise there music like “check this banger” or just genuinely being big headed about my music, only because I genuinely dont think I am good enough to boast, so yeah,
peace and love from CHEEBA!

Well, we think he’s good enough to be boasting, so we’ll do it for him. Make sure you get onto his Soundcloud and check out his tracks, lots of freebies for you to download so you don’t want to be missing out – http://soundcloud.com/cheeba91

In addition, his EP ‘Tales of Conspiracy’ is coming out soon on Jambalay Records, you can listen to the tracks here and I’m sure you’ll agree with me it’ll be a worthy purchase! http://soundcloud.com/cheeba91/sets/forthcoming-on-jambalay-records/

As always, we’re selected a couple of tracks for you to listen to. Not an easy feat for someone who produces so many great tunes!

Cheeba – T0t0r0 4eva

Telepopmusik – Breathe (Cheeba Remix)

Thanks for dropping by, see you soon!
TM.

This entry was posted in Introducing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

