Introducing: Collision

New Post!

Well, last week (roughly) we took a look into the crystal ball of future dubstep (or maybe garage), so it’s only fair we bring the sound right back to its roots.

I get a lot of e-mails from people sending me this that or the other. ‘Will you promote my artists in exchange for blog publicity’, ‘hear my filthy new track’ etc. etc. So my heart skipped a whole 140 beat when I heard the stuff this guy is producing. Out there in a tiny corner ot the internet, true dubstep is being moulded from pure sub bass. Professionally so!

This guy is certainly gonna be a name to watch out for. I give you: Collision.
Read on!

Breathtaking, room-shaking bass accompanied by pinpoint percussion, this is dubstep at its finest. Turn the lights off and your subwoofer up loud – the sounds this guy produces will leave you begging for more. Read what he has to say, then go visit his soundcloud page for a musical experience (and a few freebies as well)!

Dubstep Origins: First up, what’s your name, how old are you and where are you based?

Collision: I’m Jay Mansell, I’m 18 years old and I’m from Birmingham, England.

DO: How long have you been producing for, and how would you describe your style?

C: I’ve been producing music for just under two years now, but I didn’t start producing dubstep until about six months in. I would say my style is on the darker tip – The bass heavy, percussive kind of stuff. That’s the sound I loved and so that’s the kind of music I wanted to make.

DO: Who or what introduced you to dubstep?

C: I’ve only been listening to dubstep properly for about two years. I was listening to the radio, flicking channels one night and stumbled across Radio 1. They were broadcasting an audio documentary by Mary Anne Hobbs called ‘Dubstep Souljahs’. I remember tuning in late and catching the drop to ‘Bury Da Bwoy’ by Mala. I didn’t know what it was but it made me carry on listening. The day after, I scoured the internet for hours and heard dozens of tunes like ‘Haunted’ by Digital Mystikz and ‘Midnight Request Line’ by Skream. After that I knew it was the music genre I wanted to be a part of.

DO: Which artists are currently influencing your production?

C: There are loads of artists that influence my own music. There are obvious hints you hear, like Loefah and Mala, but more recently there are producers like LX One and Icicle that are really pushing me towards that side.

DO: In your eyes, what is dubstep as a genre?

C: Dubstep for me is subjective. Some people think dubstep is a bassline over a kick on the first hit and snare on the third. If that’s how you see dubstep no one can really tell you otherwise. I think dubstep can’t really be summed up in a sentence because the spectrum is so huge. You could go and listen to something like ‘Archangel’ by Burial and then listen to ‘Spongebob’ by Coki. Those two tunes sound nothing like each other and yet most people would class them both as dubstep. That’s something I think you don’t get in many other genres of music.

DO: What’s on your playlist at the moment?

C: Right now, anything by Icicle, LX One, DJ Madd or anything out on Blackbox is pretty much insta-bag. There’s a producer you’ll be hearing a lot of in 2011 called Lurka who I think is very talented. Outside of dubstep I’m feeling Break and Nico – Salvage, Jamie Woon – Spiral, Jose Gonzales – Crosses and Darkstars’ new album North.

DO: Anything else you’d like to add?

No I think I’ve talked enough as it is (laughs).

Great drills, here are my two favourite tracks, but I highly recommend visiting his soundcloud for more! Check him here – http://soundcloud.com/collisiondub

Collision – Limbo

Collision – Another Planet

Lovely. Expect new updates soon, I’m gonna stop being so lazy!
Big ups,

TM.

This entry was posted in Introducing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

