Introducing: Skanky

Easy all, been a while. Past few months have left me trying to decide where dubstep is moving as a genre. Whenever something gets commercial, there’s always a tendency to dilute the core themes that made the music what it was in the first place. Luckily, there are still people repping the foundations of dubstep and I’d like to do my part by bringing it to you.

So here goes then!

Well, all genres move forwards; sometimes for the better and the future garage sound that has branched off from dubstep is certainly one to pay attention to. So it gives me great pleasure to present to you a guy who can only be described as a sound of the future, this is Skanky. Enjoy!

Skanky Image

A fantastic mesh of 2-step percussion and upbeat vocal samples, Skanky is certainly taking the future garage genre in the right direction. Here’s what he had to say:

Dubstep Origins: First up, what’s your name, how old are you and where are you based?

Skanky: Hello! My name is Louis Johnson, I’m 16 and currently living in Enfield, North London.

DO: How long have you been producing for, and how would you describe your style?

S: I’ve only been producing for about two years, but I’ve always been quite musical. I’ve been playing guitar for five years now and I’m currently trying to work some guitar into my newer tunes. Originally I started producing s*** electro tunes after being inspired by the whole Ed Banger Records thing, but soon turned to mainly making s*** dubstep! At the moment I’m making melodic, vocal based garage tunes which have a strong bassline.

DO: Who or what introduced you to dubstep?

S:  A few older mates came round one day and blasted ‘Skream – Stagger’ through a pair of £15 computer speakers. From that day on I was hooked!

DO: Which artists are currently influencing your production?

S: Currently the producers influencing my production would be Submerse and Damu. Both of them have a really clear, clean sound in their tracks and a great sense of melody and rhythm.

DO: In your eyes, what is dubstep as a genre?

S: For me, I would say dubstep is an excuse to get messy and dance like an idiot.

DO: What’s on your playlist at the moment?

S:  A few tracks I’m rinsing at the moment would be:
Erik Satie – Gymnopédie No.1
Fantastic Mr Fox – Evelyn (or anything from the Evelyn EP)
Totally Extinct Enormous Dinosaurs – Blood Pressure
Rustie – Hyperthrust
Jamie xx – Far Nearer

DO: Anything else you’d like to add?

S: Not really!

Good stuff then! As always, a couple of tunes to get you grooving!

Skanky – Do You

Skanky – unitled13

Make sure you keep up with this guy on Soundcloud, he’s going to be big! http://soundcloud.com/skanky-official

Thanks for dropping by, I’m gonna be getting back on this. The world needs dubstep, and I’m not talking about the kind for protest kids!

Peace,
TM.

This entry was posted in Introducing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

