Introducing: Kiev

Easy all. Today we’ve gotten an interview from someone who we think is one of the most talented producers on soundcloud right now.

Introducing – Kiev

Kiev

There’s a lot to be said for this guy, but no matter where you start, you’ll always come back to how his sub bass perfectly complements his tracks. Whether rolling rhythms or thumping bangers, this guy may well be the master of the 20-80Hz range!

Here’s our interview, and a few bonus tracks!

Dubstep Origins:  First up, what’s your name, how old are you and where are you based?

Kiev: My real name is Daniel Elorza, I’m 21 years old and I’m from Caracas, Venezuela.

DO:  How long have you been producing for, and how would you describe your style?

K: I’ve been producing for about a year now, maybe a little more than that. It’s complicated to say what style I have, I mean, I think music comes naturally. I produce dubstep as a main platform but I’m always pushing myself to try different things, not just 140bpm songs (laughs). I think the most definable style I can came up with is very subby, deep dubstep, sometimes more dramatic type of songs and sometimes more chilled ones.

DO:  Who or what introduced you to dubstep?

K: The first thing that introduced me to it was a special mix from Pacheko for a local radio station in 2007. It was like nothing I’ve listened to before. Since then I’ve embraced it as one of my favourite genres, it’s the bass y’know! That sh*t’s hard to quit (laughs). Back then I wasn’t even making music, curiosity of how it was done came after, and I guess now I’m here!

DO:  Which artists are currently influencing your production?

K: I started listened to Rusko and early Caspa in 2007, they were the only artists I knew at the time. I eventually listened to more of those mainstream artists, but Mala came to town once and I was completely shocked with his show. People went absolutely crazy with this minimalist, deep type of dubstep. The club was shaking ‘cause of the roaring subs. Definitely he influenced me a lot on that side, I would be making some horrible midrange dubstep right now if it wasn’t for him! Production-wise I think I try to do something more from the heart rather than what I hear from other artists. It’s more of a personal thing going on in my productions rather than try to sound like anyone else.

DO:  In your eyes, what is dubstep as a genre?

K: I see dubstep as music you have to feel rather than dance to. I can spend a whole day rinsing with a sub and a catchy rhythm! I don’t think it’s necessary to have some expert production to be good and listenable, I’m more a sub person than a filthy one (laughs).

DO:  What’s on your playlist at the moment?

K: I’m loving all the new MEDi releases, artists like v.i.v.e.k, Phaeleh, Jack Sparrow, Eskmo are killing it recently. Two guys from Belgium called Subreachers are making outstanding music right now and then there’s some sh*t you can never quite quit, like Tool, Deftones, Portishead and Bossa Nova stuff, wicked music!

DO:  Anything else you’d like to add?

K: Yes! I have a release forthcoming very soon on Apex Records so make sure to cop that if you feel to. Not sure on their release date yet but I think it’s going out before the year finishes. Another thing, it’s very difficult to reach people lately with your music, this has become a very monopolised industry, so once in a while get on soundcloud and myspace and listen to other artist rather than the ones you’re listening to right now. You might get surprised with the amount of people making such incredible music and they’re in their bedrooms waiting for someone to noticed them, and the most important thing ever, give some love, don’t hate!

Kiev – Levitate

Kiev – Irradiant

We’ll update you when his releases drop! Until then, check out his soundcloud for more great tracks! http://soundcloud.com/kiev

Stay tight all.

TM.

This entry was posted in Introducing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

