Introducing: Rdubz

Wasn’t gonna update this frequently, but a lot of interest has been shown so far, so I’ll keep this ball rolling!

Up today – RDubz

Rdubz

Clearly influenced by electro and garage vibes, RDubz produces a fat, bass-heavy sound, melding expertly with ambient leads and pads. With songs of suitably epic proportion, each track is a melodic journey progressing through musical thoughts and feelings. Listening from start to finish will leave you suspended in a blissful trance, what’s not to like about that?
Well, we’ve got in touch and given him the Dubstep Origins Interview, here’s what he had to say:

Dubstep Origins: First up, what’s your name, how old are you and where are you based?

RDubz: I’m RDubz, I’m 26 and I’m based in Chelmsford, Essex, UK.

DO: How long have you been producing for, and how would you describe your style?

R: I’ve always been playing around with music since I was young, although I started to take producing seriously in 2001. I first tried my hand at UK Garage, then Electro House until moving onto Dubstep in 2007. I’d say I’m best known for melodic and progressive styles of dubstep, I make a few dirty bangers every now and then but usually it’s something melodic that comes out.

DO: Who or what introduced you to dubstep?

R: A friend of mine (Varied Temprament) asked me to make a dubstep tune back in 07, I gave it a pop and made ‘Stonehead’, since then I’ve been addicted to the stuff.

DO: Which artists are currently influencing your production?

R: At the moment no-one’s really influencing me artistically, technically I’d have to say Reso, there was a Q&A session not too long ago on dubstepforum where he laid down some real good advice, and when you’ve got someone like Reso telling you how it’s done, you listen!

DO: In your eyes, what is dubstep as a genre?

R:For me, I’d say Dubstep is blank canvas at roughly 140bpm, despite how it’s becoming popular for the midrange and very loud bangers, I don’t feel like I have to go that way, I feel pretty free to do anything in dubstep, whether it be melodic, dirty, deep or clubby.

DO: What’s on your playlist at the moment?

R: Drake, Caribou, Drum and Bass Arena Anthology & Netsky, good stuff!

DO: Anything else you’d like to add?

R: Thanks for having me! Also I have a couple of releases coming out in the next month, “Spook” is on “The Electric Rasta EP” on Haunted Audio due for release 10th November (http://hauntedaudio.com/2010/10/the-electric-rasta-ep-various-artists/) & I also have an EP out with Life After Math, “Tuff EP” is out on 1st November (http://lifeaftermath.bandcamp.com/).

And some tracks, I’ve picked my two personal favourites but all the tracks on his soundcloud are fantastic. http://soundcloud.com/rdoublee

Rdubz – Broken

RDubz – Not Long Left

All for today guys, stay tight!

TM.

This entry was posted in Introducing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

